Imaginary Jesus

Posted: May 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’ve been pretty busy lately.  A friend loaned me a book recently with the recommendation that I take some time to read.  I LOVE to read.  So over the past week or so I read it.  The book is called Imaginary Jesus by Matt Mikalatos.  I won’t ruin it for anyone, but I must say that the idea that we have the propensity to mold a Jesus that is in our own image hits close to home.

I wonder how many times I have constructed some weird version of Jesus that was more comfortable for me to follow than the REAL Jesus.  I see it all around me.  We project our pre-conceived thoughts and emotions on to Jesus instead of letting Him project Himself onto us.  I am reminded of the fact that often times I get so busy and so cluttered that I have drowned out the still small voice of Jesus.  I forget that He is right here with me.  I forget that He is speaking to me all the time through His Word and with promptings and whispers from the Holy Spirit.  I forget that He is praying for me.  He rejoices over me.  He is saving me.  He has a plan for me.

I want to stop scheduling Him into my life and instead let Him have my schedule.  After all, He doesn’t desire that I make Him the priority of my day, but rather that I give my day to Him to prioritize it for me.

Comments
  1. Hey Doug, thanks for giving Imaginary Jesus a shout out! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    Matt

Leave a Reply

