Kosher What???

Posted: December 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

I saw this picture on a friend’s facebook page.  I have no reason to think it is fake, but even if it is – it’s stinkin hilarious.  I especially love the wording for the sign “Delicious for Chanukah”!  As funny as it is that a company/store would put out an advertisement like this which is obviously ignorant to an entire culture, it makes me think about how Christians communicate truth to our culture.  Paul tells us that the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing.  The Gospel can seem as crazy to the world as ham for Chanukah.    Crazy might not be a strong enough word.  The Gospel is offensive to the lost.  I don’t want to believe that I can’t earn my salvation.  I don’t want to depend on anyone else.  I don’t want to hear that my sin is an offense to a holy God and that the only thing I deserve is eternity in Hell.

That is the message of the cross, though.  We all have sinned.  We all deserve Hell.  God has made a way for us through Jesus.  His death made a way for me to be right with God.  I must depend on Jesus and His work on the cross to save me.  I didn’t earn it.  I don’t deserve it.

I love the second part of that verse in 1 Corinthians 1:18, “The message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved, it is the power of God.”  The Gospel is still relevant and necessary to me as I am being saved.  God’s not finished with me yet.  He is still working to make me more and more like Him.   I still have to die to my selfish desires and eagerness to earn God’s favor.  I still have to rely and depend on Jesus to do for me what I could never do.

Thank You Lord for kosher ham!

Leave a Reply

