GRACE: Gods relentless pursuit

Posted: November 18, 2010 in Uncategorized

I’ve been reading about this book that I want to buy.  Surprised by Grace: God’s relentless pursuit of rebels, by Tullian Tchividjian.  Its centered around the story of Jonah.  I know a lot about the story of Jonah.  To be honest, it doesn’t even rank in the top 10 of my favorite Bible stories.  As I’ve read excerpts, though, it is climbing up my lists.  What a beautiful story of God’s goodness and grace.  Jonah rebels against God and God relentlessly pursues him.  So many times we fall into the trap of telling people that they better make sure that they do what God wants or He’ll find someone else to do it.  I think the story of Jonah teaches us (among other things) that God will go to great lengths to help us to obey.

Thank You, God for Your abundant grace and for Your relentless pursuit of me.  Its not that one time I needed His grace and now that I’m saved (justified), I don’t need it anymore.  Rather, now that I know God’s grace I am becoming keenly aware that I need God’s grace more than I ever did.

Comments are closed.